Compliance & Penalties

Compliance

The Personal Responsibility and Work Opportunity Reconciliation Act (PRWORA) of 1996, 42 U.S.C. 653a, requires all employers to report newly hired and re-hired employees to a state directory within 20 days of their hire date.


Penalties

New hire reporting is required by law in all 50 states, and has been mandatory since October, 1998. Pursuant to federal law, states have the option of imposing civil monetary penalties on employers who fail to report new hires. In Maryland, the fine can be $20 per newly hired employee. If there is a conspiracy between the employer and employee not to report, the penalty can be up to $500 per newly hired employee.


Multiple FEIN's

Using a different FEIN to report your new hires and your quarterly wage information may also cause you to appear as non-compliant. If you have more than one FEIN, please use the same FEIN from your quarterly wage information for your new hire report.


Working with Employers to Assure the Support for our Nation's Children

MAXIMUS operates the Maryland State Directory of New Hires under contract with the Maryland Department of Human Services and the Maryland Child Support Administration
Return to Top
Copyright © 2014-2015
MAXIMUS. All Rights Reserved